Written By
First Published
Last Updated
Agatu local government area

Agatu local government area was created in 1996 with Obagaji as its headquarters and has one of the 22 Idoma districts; Agatu. In the March 2006 population census, Agatu local government area had a population of 115,597 and was projected to be 156,000 in 2016.

The local government shares boundary with Apa and Gwer West local government areas of Benue State as well as with Omala local government area of Kogi State and Keana local government area of Nasarawa State. 

With River Benue flowing through the area, the local government area is noted for fish production as well as e yams, rice, beans, cassava, maize, soybeans, sorghum and millet.

Add new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.