Oju Local Government Area

Written By
First Published

Oju local government area was created in 1976 and shares boundary with Obi, Ado, Konshisha and Gwer East local government areas of Benue State, Ebonyi and Izzi local government areas of Ebonyi State and Yala local government area of Cross River State.

The headquarters of the local government area is Oju town where there is a College of Education.

Oju local government area is home to rich deposits of bauxite and limestone and the people who speak Igede language, are known for production of yams, cassava, rice, maize, groundnut, guinea corn and soybeans. Pottery and carving is also popular in the area.