Okpokwu Local Government Area

Written By
First Published

Okpokwu local government area was created in 1976 and takes its name from the Okpokwu stream. The local government area is made up of Okpoga, Edumoga and Ichama districts with Okpoga as the headquarters.

The local government area shares boundary with Otukpo, Ohimini, Ogbadibo and Ado local government areas of Benue State; Olamaboro local government area of Kogi State and Isi-Uzo local government area of Enugu State.

The people of the area speak a dialect of Idoma and are predominantly farmers with citrus fruits, maize, cassava, maize and groundnuts the main produce from the area.  The area is also popular for the quality of garri produced in the local government area.

The biggest town in Okpokwu local government area is Ugbokolo, which is home to Benue State Polytechnic, the first higher institution in Idoma Land. Other towns in the local government area include Eke-Nobi, Eke-Olengbecho, Eke-Agide, Oji, Ella, Amejo and Okonobo.