Ado Local Government Area

Written By
First Published

Ado local government area, which derives its name from the Ado stream, was created in 1989 and has five districts Agila, Igumale, Ulayi, Ijigban and Utonkon with its headquarters in Igumale. The local government area shares boundary with Otukpo, Okpokwu, Obi and Oju local government areas of Benue State and also shares boundary with Ishielu and Ohaukwu local government areas of Ebonyi State.

Ado local government area is renowned for yam, rice, cassava, maize and palm oil production. Fishing is a popular occupation in the area due to the presence of Okpokwu, Ogege, Awu, Atsani and Ado streams. There is also a large number of blacksmiths in the area, producing hoes, cutlasses and other basic farm implements.

Limestone, amongst other mineral resources, has been found in the local government area in commercial quantity. It is hoped that mining of these mineral deposits would begin in the not too distant future.

The people of Ado local government speak a dialect of Idoma language except for the people of Utonkon who speak Ufia language.