Ogbadibo Local Government Area

Written By
First Published

Ogbadibo local government area was created in 1991 and is made up of three districts; Otukpa, Orokam and Owukpa with Otukpa as headquarters. The local government area derives its name from the Ogbadibo stream which flows through the area.

Ogbadibo local government area is bordered by Okpokwu local government area to the east, Olamaboro local government area of Kogi State  to the North, Udenu and Igbo-Eze North local government areas of Enugu State to the west and Isi-Uzo local government area of Enugu State to the south.

The people of Ogbadibo local government area are predominantly farmers with cassava, millet, palm wine and palm oil produced in commercial quantities. This means the markets in the area are usually busy with traders from other parts of Benue State as well as neighbouring states.

There are large coal and kaolin deposits in Owukpa and Orokam respectively.  Different opportunities are currently being explored to recommence mining of the Owukpa deposits which was suspended in the past due to economic downturn.

The people of the Ogbadibo local government area predominantly speak a dialect of Idoma language.